When Funerals Go Bad

May 26, 2009

While at work yesterday, I overheard the ambulance going out to a call at a graveyard. Now, I personally like to give everyone at least one round of ACLS no matter how long they were down prior to arrival, but I think you have to draw the line somewhere right? In the end though, it turned out to be nothing. It did remind me though of one bizarre funeral that I received some clients from once while working in the South.

Family members had gathered for the funeral of someone who had died young. While the eulogy was being given, one of the deceased man’s brothers couldn’t contain his grief any longer and tore open the casket, dragging his dead brother out in front of the whole family so he could hold him. Needless to say, people started fainting, screaming, crying and the rest were just frozen in horror at the macabre proceedings.

I received two people via ambulance from this funeral with complaints of anxiety and fainting. Nothing a little bit of Ativan and a lot of counseling couldn’t handle though. I never did get to meet the hulk who ripped open the casket though. And that is a very good thing.

Add to Technorati Favorites